Records I Like

Witterings from an old indie kid

Records I Like Mix September 2019

Another mix of indiepop, janglepop, dreampop, shoegaze and twee, culled from the last month or so, for your listening pleasure.

Alternative stream at

Full Tracklisting:

Pastel Coast – Vacation
Vacation is one of those songs that reminds me of so much and yet I am unable to recall a single reference off the top of my head!

Sugar World – Sad In Heaven
Sad in Heaven is one of those fuzzy indiepop tracks that will penetrate your brain given the number of hooks and earworms it contains.

New Moon – Collide Into Me
Collide Into Me is a lovely, gentle dreampop song, despite the maudlin words, that tugs at ones consciousness

Tokyo Tea Room – Always Tomorrow
Heavenly vocals mix it up with downtempo, sometimes dubby electronica whilst the translucent guitars do their thing.

Egoism – What Are We Doing?
Australians Egoism make catchy indiepop/dreampop tunes and What Are We Doing? is no exception.

Brilliant Beast – Do We Still Go Dancing?
The standout track for me from the band’s recent Pageant Fatigue EP.

Gaarden – Shiny Day
The new single out now on Library Group Records.

Holy Drone – Northern Fire
Formerly known as Danxia, Warrington’s Holy Drone make lovely psychedelic influenced shoegaze which is clearly evidenced on Northern Fire.

Ancient Light – The Panther
A dark and haunting song. Play with the lights dimmed….

Auto-Vélo – Copernica
The title track opens proceedings and features jerky guitars with backing beats provided by the synth alongside side excellent main and backing vocals.

Blue Tomorrows – Sound Of Moving
Sound Of Moving is a dreamy, soothing track that also dabbles in psychedelia in the style of Spaceman 3.

Smiles – This Boy
Flip side of the new single Gone For Good which is out now on Slumberland Records.

UV-TV – Mirror
Taken from the current album Happy.

The Umbrella Puzzles – Somersaulting
The Umbrella Puzzles is the latest project of Ryan Marquez. Somersaulting is taken from the self titled debut EP.

Palm Haze – Second Round
The latest single to be lifted from the band’s just released debut album, Rêve Bleu.

The Wellington – It’s So Fine
It’s So Fine sees the band drop the psychedelic and baroque influences from their previous single and replacing them with a sound reminiscent of Creation Records 1989/90.

Mitimitis – Ella Flotó Sobre Mi Y Voló Un Auto Con Su Rayo Laser
A track taken from the excellent Abrilar EP.

The Reds, Pinks & Purples – A Kick in the Face (That’s Life)
The brand new single out now.

Horsebeach – Unlucky Strike
A track taken from the current The Unforgiving Current longplayer.

The Popguns – Carrying The Fire
………… is a rousing guitar driven track asking “are you ready to go…….one step” which is sung singer Wendy Pickles in a raucous manner.

Ruby Haunt – Jeune
Reminds me of the indiepop bands Heavenly used to put out many moons ago. Mesmerising and heartfelt.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


This entry was posted on September 1, 2019 by in C86, Dream Pop, Dreampop, indiepop, Jangle Pop, Lo-Fi, Noise Pop, Shoegaze, Twee and tagged , , .
Follow Records I Like on

Past Sounds

%d bloggers like this: