Sticky post

Records I Like Mix July 2020

It’s a bumper mix this month running at just over two hours. So get stuck into shoegaze, dreampop, indiepop, jangle-pop and a lot more besides. All the tracks have featured on these pages and in light of the absence of the normal accompanying details please use the search function to find out more and if you can support the artists in this mix. Enjoy! Full Tracklisting: Apple Orchard – A Slow Dissolve The Shop Window – Mannequin Lies Hater – Sift Day Aches – After Glow English Summer – I Know You Loca Polka – Surrender Spunsugar – Happier Happyless … Continue reading Records I Like Mix July 2020

Loca Polka – Shiny Happy Digital Club 03

I have a feeling I am not going to be able to keep up with these releases in the Shiny Happy Digital Club releases but I will do my best! No 3 features Indonesian band Loca Polka who come from Central Java. Their line up consists of Nuri Hapsari, Mikael Yudi Priamuda, Christian Agung and Ginanjar Wahyu Aji. They formed in 2017 and released their debut EP Cruel Pleasure last December. However, I only caught them for the first time via Shiny Happy’s Please Rain Fall Compilation which was released in May and featured the EP’s lead single Surrender which … Continue reading Loca Polka – Shiny Happy Digital Club 03

The Sunday Session

The sun has gone in and it’s p*ssing it down in London Town. Time to get stuck into more tunes resting on top of my digital back pile. Fowl Science hail from Toronto and, judging by the lack of anything else listed, The Flowering Eye is their debut release. The song is a catchy mix of shoegaze, alt-rock and post-punk. The synths give the song an emotive feel as does the repeated chorus of “they’re calling; they’re calling”. The Shop Window follow up their excellent previous single Mannequin Lies with new single Reflection. To be honest it does not grab … Continue reading The Sunday Session

The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

Spanish indiepop veterans The Yellow Melodies will be releasing their new We All Deserve a Chance EP on July 15th 2020. It will be released via the Greek label Old Bad Habits which is fast becoming a go to label for all things indiepop and more. The title track is currently available for streaming and it’s a keyboard driven song that is aimed for the indiepop dance-floors whether it’s in a post lock-down club or a room in your place of abode. And cracking retro artwork too. The We All Deserve a Chance EP will be available in 7″ and … Continue reading The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

The Monday Indiepop Threesome

Even As We Speak – Unknown Unknown, from Australian indie popsters Even As We Speak, is the third single to be taken from the forthcoming album Adelphi which will be released via Shelflife Records on July 24th, 2020. You can pre-order the album from here and/or pick up the single from here. Homepage Facebook Fort Not – The Club Is Open Swedish band Fort Not release their second album on the 11th September 2020. Titled The Club Is Open it will be released via Spanish label Meritorio Records. At time of writing, there are two tracks available for streaming with … Continue reading The Monday Indiepop Threesome

The Wednesday Mix

The Yearning has gone all ABBA on us as the new single Only When I’m Dancing demonstrates. The flip side Moonlight Fantasy errs on the side of disco. It all brings up images of wide lapels, flares, tassels, sparkling dresses and glitter balls. It’s very nice and fun too – check out the video. I wonder if they will move onto the 1980s next? When I’m Dancing is out now in digital formats via Elefant Records. Atlanta’s Bathe Alone has released six tracks since last September with new track In Deep being the latest. It’s an indie-rock track that tells … Continue reading The Wednesday Mix

The Slow Summits – Safe and Sorry

Here is something for you. Press play and close your eyes and try and work out where you are. Are you in mid-1980’s England or Linköping in 2020? That’s the trouble when you are an old man like me and I must stop comparing new releases with those that reside in my cranium based jukebox. Safe and Sorry is a well crafted and very catchy, C86 inspired jangling indie-pop tune that puts one in a positive state of mind during these strange days. If I am still around in 30 years time I look forward to saying “you know what, … Continue reading The Slow Summits – Safe and Sorry

Records I Like Mix June 2020

If I said to myself in 1988 I would be compiling a “mixtape” in 2020 featuring The Flatmates, The Wolfhounds, Wendy Pickles from The Popguns and ex Popgun/Weddoes drummer Shaun Charman I would have said I was a bit bonkers. Well, 32 years later it seems I am bonkers after all as they all feature on this months mix which features tracks covering indie-pop, jangle-pop, shoegaze and alt-rock. It’s nice to see kosmische (“Krautrock”) creeping into indie and dream pop too. Enjoy! Full Tracklisting and details: The Flatmates – If You Love Me Let Me Know Taken from the new … Continue reading Records I Like Mix June 2020

Las Margaritas – Invierno

I don’t know much about Las Margaritas apart from this seemingly one-woman project hails from Santiago, Chile. However, what I do know is that Las Margaritas purveys some fine tuneage as demonstrated on the debut EP Invierno (Winter). The EP contains some delightful guitar-based indie/twee pop in the vein of Talulah Gosh or Po! When translated, the lyrics deal with subjects of anxiety, reluctance, goodbyes, memories and happy times. Whatever the subject the songs are very catchy and the likes of Las Flores, Joe and Alguien Como Tú should be on your must listen to pile. Invierno is available on … Continue reading Las Margaritas – Invierno