Jangle Pop

This category contains 273 posts

The Shop Window – Sad Eyes

The new single from The Shop Window is a personal offering from Carl Mann and was written following a visit to see his 104-year-old grandmother. Sad Eyes combines jangling guitars, poignant words and a catchy chorus that belies the melancholy. The band’s debut 7″ single will be released via Spinout Nuggets in due course whilst … Continue reading

One of Those Catch Up Posts

It’s been a busy few days at work and I have been dipping in and out of a number of releases. So the first post of the weekend is a rip through whats been happening and what delights for your ears may be on offer. Regular visitors to this blog may note that I am … Continue reading

Records I Like Mix November 2020

A bit later than planned but better late than never. Another round of new releases since the last upload. Matinee Recordings have had a busy month and all four of their single releases so far are included alongside a couple of Robin Guthrie mixes. There is the usual round-up of indiepop from Spain as well … Continue reading

Northern Portrait – At Attention

2020 has been a dump of a year all round but the return of Danish band Northern Portrait brings a smile to my face. The band will be releasing their first material since 2013’s Pretty Decent Swimmers ‎EP in the shape of new album The Swiss Army. It has been preceded by the lead single … Continue reading

Die Zärtlichkeit – So Einfach War Es Nie

German band Die Zärtlichkeit are following up their self-titled debut EP with their second EP. Imaginatively titled Die Zärtlichkeit II it’s preceded by the lead single So Einfach War Es Nie which translates as It Has Never Been So Easy. The roots of the track, like the aforementioned EP, are firmly stuck in the past … Continue reading

A Saturday Trio

Planet Loser – Hold My Breath The latest single from Planet Loser is a delectable slice of dreamy indie-pop with glistening guitars, poignant words and another fine vocal performance from Amber Lewis. It’s their sixth single release of the year so I am hoping that they are all part of a bigger picture. If not … Continue reading

A Tuesday indiepop Saunter

It was only yesterday when covering Leach Me Lemonade that I wrote that I hoped that Shiny Happy Records dig deep into their archives and make releases that were not previously available digitally on Bandcamp available. And overnight two more have appeared. The first is a split release between French band Skittle Alley and Indonesian … Continue reading

Leach Me Lemonade – Rainy Days (Loneliness) EP

Indonesian label Shiny Happy Records have re-released Leach Me Lemonade’s Rainy Days (Loneliness) EP. Originally released on cassette in 2015 by the same label it features four tracks. I was aware of the band previously thanks to compilations and split releases but this is the first full release of theirs I have discovered. Like most … Continue reading

Strum & Thrum: The American Jangle Underground 1983​-​1987

US label Captured Tracks have just released a 28 track compilation that may appeal to many who read these pages. It’s titled Strum & Thrum: The American Jangle Underground 1983​-​1987 and the label writes that “we’re very proud of this compilation and guarantee it’s an essential listen for any fan of classic ‘80s indie bands … Continue reading

Strawberry Whiplash – Press 4 For Love

Today saw the release of the first Strawberry Whiplash! material for five years. Press 4 For Love is a jangling 1960’s inspired indie-pop effort and is backed with A Rainy Day In Glasgow. That track was originally left over from the sessions for the band’s 2015 album Hits In The Car. An album is due … Continue reading

Past Sounds