Bonus Three Pack – Swirling around The Maypole

It’s freezing in London and with no Beltane fires to keep me warm these tracks from Sweden & Finland (brrrr) will have to that job instead!


Stockholm’s SJÖBLOM is Johan formerly of the Swedish post-punk band The Exploding Boy. Tape is the first single to be taken from the forthcoming album Demons. It’s a fine fusion of indie-pop and Post-punk in its original form yet it’s the remixes here that take the song to another level none more so than on the catchy synth-driven remix by Big City Bright Light VS Principe Valiente. A mouthful but worth it.


Damen – Brightside

Staying in Sweden Brightside is the second single to be taken from the forthcoming EP Unemployment, Broken Bones, Death, Baby by Gothenburg based Damen. It’s a rousing indie track that reminds me of art-rock of Franz Ferdinand in many places. It wouldn’t normally be my thing but it’s a bit infectious if truth be told!


Verandan – Open Sea

Finally, we cross the border into Finland we find the latest track from Verandan, the band formed by ex Cats On Fire frontman Ville Hopponen. Open Sea is a gentle but epic-sounding song that uses an electric piano to great effect. There is some lovely folkish strumming too to accompany the weary words and the scenario that the song sets out.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.