A Monday Quartet

theCatherines – It All Goes Down From Here My Dear

It All Goes Down From Here My Dear is taken from theCatherines new album Drenched. It’s one of the highlights for me alongside the poptastic Oh Oh I Told You So We’re Gonna Get Stuck In The Stop & Go and the Karen Carpenter sampling Just Like To Be Near To Me. As ever it’s all put together by Heiko Schneider (words, voice, instruments) with backing vocals from Sandra Ost.

The artwork is fab too and Liguria, Italy looks a bit likeSouthend. Minus the sand and sun of course but there is a lot of sunshine to be found on the album!


The Telescopes – Mesmerised

Amazingly I never have mentioned The Telescopes on this site before despite their new album Songs Of Love And Revolution being their twelfth. In fact the last time I heard them they were making a noise that even my cloth ears found too much. I doubt I would have mentioned them either until I heard one of the three tracks available for streaming on their Bandcamp page.

Mesmerised is simply stunning and is the sister track to Spacemen Three’s Hypnotised. The other two tracks currently available are not bad either but Mesmerised is the one I come back too.

Songs Of Love And Revolution is out now and can be purchased from Tapete Records on CD and digital formats.


The Wedding Present – You’re Just A Habit That I’m Trying To Break

The Wedding present will be releasing a new album later this month. Titled Locked Down and Stripped Back it features reworked and semi-acoustic versions of tracks lifted from their back catalogue such as You Should Always Keep In Touch With Your Friends, A Million Miles, My Favourite Dress and Crawl.

Except for You’re Just A Habit That I’m Trying To Break of course which is a new song David Gedge wrote with the band’s new guitarist Jon Stewart (ex Sleeper).

Talking of Sleeper the album also features a cover of an unreleased track of theirs titled We Should Be Together and which features Louise Wener on vocals.

Locked Down and Stripped Back will be released on February 19th 2021. It will be released on Scopitines in the UK and Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records in the States.


The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness – Songs From Another Life

The new album from The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness (Andrew Taylor in Scotland and Gonzalo Marcos in Spain) is just over 25 minutes long but packs a lot of jangling guitars into those minutes. Their sound has seen comparisons to the likes of Big Star, Teenage Fanclub and The Byrds. There is nothing new here but they put all their influences in a pot and give it a nice big stir which results in an enjoyable romp through familiar territory.

Songs From Another Life is out now on Bobo Integral Records


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.