Weathering/Ease Split

Weathering follow up last November’s debut single I Come Down with an appearance on this new split release with fellow Sunday Drive Records labelmates Ease which should not be that much as a surprise as both bands share members with Anxious Arms who are also on the label roster. Their contribution to the single Changing Colors is an exerting shoegaze affair with Elinor Carbone’s lovely voice standing out over the loud, vibrant and sometimes grungy guitars. Sadly the contribution from Ease isn’t my bag but if you are a fan of hardcore based music it may well tickle your tastebuds. … Continue reading Weathering/Ease Split

Fine – Lying Alone

Fine is the project of Boston (UK) based Liam James Marsh aka Kid Chameleon and Alice Kat. They both are prolific musicians and have recorded together under the name Fine for a few years now. The three songs on their new 8 track recorded EP are three gentle but melancolic indiepop songs that flirt with both with twee and folk. The very short opener Whisper To The World is very erm, fine indeed. On a side note, I believe Alice Kat released a new EP last month but aside from Spotify (and the video below) I have not been able … Continue reading Fine – Lying Alone

Star-Crossed Lovers – In the Shadows

Hot on the heels of their recent self titled EP California’s Star-Crossed Lovers have a new single out. The band, who were formed out of the ashes of Dream Suicides, deliver two slices of shoegaze that would not have been out of place on Creation Records circa 1990-1991. In the Shadows certainly sounds like early Ride and in a very good way at that so if you like a retro-tinge to your shoegaze check this one out. Continue reading Star-Crossed Lovers – In the Shadows

The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

Spanish indiepop veterans The Yellow Melodies will be releasing their new We All Deserve a Chance EP on July 15th 2020. It will be released via the Greek label Old Bad Habits which is fast becoming a go to label for all things indiepop and more. The title track is currently available for streaming and it’s a keyboard driven song that is aimed for the indiepop dance-floors whether it’s in a post lock-down club or a room in your place of abode. And cracking retro artwork too. The We All Deserve a Chance EP will be available in 7″ and … Continue reading The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

93millionmilesfromthesun – All Am Now

Doncaster based shoegazers 93millionmilesfromthesun hope to release a new album later this year. All Am Now is the first single to be taken from the, as of yet, untitled album. It’s backed with four tracks taken from their recent DKFM DreamGaze Worldwide live session which not only features a version of this single but tracks taken from 2012’s Northern Sky album. It’s (amazingly) available on a pay what you want basis from here. Facebook Continue reading 93millionmilesfromthesun – All Am Now

Lizzy & The Fanatics – Perfect World

Lizzy & The Fanatics hail from Montreal, Canda and feature Lysanne Picard, Denise Trimm and Amélie Laplante. Their new EP features the two recent singles Middle Child and Far Away alongside four new tracks. The sound on the EP is a mix of DIY pop and dream pop with luscious synths for support. They are also bilingual and it’s one of the songs sung in their native French, Les Fleurs Mortes, that is the EP highlight for me. They also launched the EP this past weekend playing “intimate versions” of the songs that appear on the EP. The Perfect World … Continue reading Lizzy & The Fanatics – Perfect World

The Monday Indiepop Threesome

Even As We Speak – Unknown Unknown, from Australian indie popsters Even As We Speak, is the third single to be taken from the forthcoming album Adelphi which will be released via Shelflife Records on July 24th, 2020. You can pre-order the album from here and/or pick up the single from here. Homepage Facebook Fort Not – The Club Is Open Swedish band Fort Not release their second album on the 11th September 2020. Titled The Club Is Open it will be released via Spanish label Meritorio Records. At time of writing, there are two tracks available for streaming with … Continue reading The Monday Indiepop Threesome

808 DOT POP – Incandescent

808 DOT POP is the side project of Passenger S from Belgian band Metroland. The new single Incandescent comes in three flavours as 2 digital EPs and one 7″ single. Incandescent is vintage sounding electronic music for fans of Kraftwerk, Telex and the like. Incandescent (Platinum) Available digitally from Alfa Matrix Incandescent (Tantalum) Available on 7″ vinyl from the artist. Incandescent (Chromium) Available digitally from Alfa Matrix Further Listening Check out the debut album The Colour Temperature and the three part Blackbodies single (Radiation – Pulsation – Variation) Facebook Continue reading 808 DOT POP – Incandescent