Loca Polka – Shiny Happy Digital Club 03

I have a feeling I am not going to be able to keep up with these releases in the Shiny Happy Digital Club releases but I will do my best!

No 3 features Indonesian band Loca Polka who come from Central Java. Their line up consists of Nuri Hapsari, Mikael Yudi Priamuda, Christian Agung and Ginanjar Wahyu Aji. They formed in 2017 and released their debut EP Cruel Pleasure last December.

However, I only caught them for the first time via Shiny Happy’s Please Rain Fall Compilation which was released in May and featured the EP’s lead single Surrender which is a fine slice of indiepop reminding me of The Proctors and early The Pains of Being Pure At Heart.

This release features two tracks which were taken from the aforementioned EP and which were recorded for one of the label’s Our Secret World Quarantine Sessions. I cannot find a video for that session but here are the band in action during February of this year – I love that Unknown Pleasures t-shirt that appears halfway through the video!

Coincidently this recording features the two other songs from the EP that are not on this latest digital release including the delectable Surrender. Win-win!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.