Loca Polka – Shiny Happy Digital Club 03

I have a feeling I am not going to be able to keep up with these releases in the Shiny Happy Digital Club releases but I will do my best! No 3 features Indonesian band Loca Polka who come from Central Java. Their line up consists of Nuri Hapsari, Mikael Yudi Priamuda, Christian Agung and Ginanjar Wahyu Aji. They formed in 2017 and released their debut EP Cruel Pleasure last December. However, I only caught them for the first time via Shiny Happy’s Please Rain Fall Compilation which was released in May and featured the EP’s lead single Surrender which … Continue reading Loca Polka – Shiny Happy Digital Club 03

The Bunbury – Track Four

The Bunbury hail from Yogyakarta, Indonesia and consist of Mirza (vocals), Fikra (guitar), Dimas (guitar), Guyub (bass) and Eja (drums). Track Four is their second single and follows Evil Knievel which was released on Shiny Happy Records last month. They write that they “borrowed the sound from the glory days of the ’80-’90s British shoegaze, post-punk, indie pop and jangle pop”. I have to say they don’t do a bad job with it either. Whereas the first single was a speedy jangling affair Track Four is two minutes of slow-paced indie-pop bliss and is the perfect end, or start as … Continue reading The Bunbury – Track Four

The Sunday Session

The sun has gone in and it’s p*ssing it down in London Town. Time to get stuck into more tunes resting on top of my digital back pile. Fowl Science hail from Toronto and, judging by the lack of anything else listed, The Flowering Eye is their debut release. The song is a catchy mix of shoegaze, alt-rock and post-punk. The synths give the song an emotive feel as does the repeated chorus of “they’re calling; they’re calling”. The Shop Window follow up their excellent previous single Mannequin Lies with new single Reflection. To be honest it does not grab … Continue reading The Sunday Session

Something For The Weekend? Three New Albums

A belated pack of three this weekend highlighting three new album releases. Moscow based Neonic Sundrive have just released their debut album. Titled Lies Paradise it features 10 tracks including the two recent lead singles Taste Your Lips and Collapsed Stars. The band’s sound is a mix of shoegaze and psychedelic rock with the odd hint of garage throughout as evidenced on the excellent Can You Feel and This Side Down. It’s available digitally from the band. Portland’s Jangle popsters The Crystal Furs have just released their third album. Or maybe not as the band explain. “Beautiful And True is … Continue reading Something For The Weekend? Three New Albums

Fine – Lying Alone

Fine is the project of Boston (UK) based Liam James Marsh aka Kid Chameleon and Alice Kat. They both are prolific musicians and have recorded together under the name Fine for a few years now. The three songs on their new 8 track recorded EP are three gentle but melancolic indiepop songs that flirt with both with twee and folk. The very short opener Whisper To The World is very erm, fine indeed. On a side note, I believe Alice Kat released a new EP last month but aside from Spotify (and the video below) I have not been able … Continue reading Fine – Lying Alone

The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

Spanish indiepop veterans The Yellow Melodies will be releasing their new We All Deserve a Chance EP on July 15th 2020. It will be released via the Greek label Old Bad Habits which is fast becoming a go to label for all things indiepop and more. The title track is currently available for streaming and it’s a keyboard driven song that is aimed for the indiepop dance-floors whether it’s in a post lock-down club or a room in your place of abode. And cracking retro artwork too. The We All Deserve a Chance EP will be available in 7″ and … Continue reading The Yellow Melodies – We All Deserve a Chance EP

Lizzy & The Fanatics – Perfect World

Lizzy & The Fanatics hail from Montreal, Canda and feature Lysanne Picard, Denise Trimm and Amélie Laplante. Their new EP features the two recent singles Middle Child and Far Away alongside four new tracks. The sound on the EP is a mix of DIY pop and dream pop with luscious synths for support. They are also bilingual and it’s one of the songs sung in their native French, Les Fleurs Mortes, that is the EP highlight for me. They also launched the EP this past weekend playing “intimate versions” of the songs that appear on the EP. The Perfect World … Continue reading Lizzy & The Fanatics – Perfect World

The Monday Indiepop Threesome

Even As We Speak – Unknown Unknown, from Australian indie popsters Even As We Speak, is the third single to be taken from the forthcoming album Adelphi which will be released via Shelflife Records on July 24th, 2020. You can pre-order the album from here and/or pick up the single from here. Homepage Facebook Fort Not – The Club Is Open Swedish band Fort Not release their second album on the 11th September 2020. Titled The Club Is Open it will be released via Spanish label Meritorio Records. At time of writing, there are two tracks available for streaming with … Continue reading The Monday Indiepop Threesome